Classics or essential?

The Dickies for me the most striking example for pointing out the difference between classics and essential when it comes to punk. Both singles are classics, when I first discovered English punk, I heard these two singles and both the singles show up in a lot of articles on English punk. But still if I haven’t heard these before, did I miss out on something? I don’t think I did it. Two fun singles but nowhere as essential as The Clash, The Damned, The Ruts or Sex Pistols.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Classics or essential?

  1. Guido says:

    The Dickies are from California. Not a UK punk band. Their first 2 albums were released in 1979 and they were (i believe) the first West Coast Punk band to land a Major Label record deal (A&M Records) so I’d say they are quite essential. Just not in the Context of UK punk šŸ˜‰

    • outofstepsince81 says:

      Interesting, I clearly recall having this giving to me on a dubbed cassette back in the early 90’s with the message these are all UK punk bands from the seventies. I never bothered to read into the Dickies more. This does put things in a different perspective, however I still aren’t a big fan of that bubblegum punk sound.

Leave a Reply

Records With History and Future

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

Every record tells a story

A Blog About Music, Vinyl, More Music and (Sometimes) Music...

. LIFE IS CHEAP .

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

COUCH SLOUCH!!!!

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

We Will Bury You

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

Across Your Face

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

Screaming For Records

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

Unwavering Spirit

A Vinyl Record Blog

The One Thing That Still Holds True

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

Vinyl Noize

Oh, we heard you like to collect records

The Endless Quest...

vinyl | tape | cd pick ups

